Nutrition Counseling

 

Why You Need to See a Dietitian for Your Celiac Disease?
The only treatment for celiac disease is lifelong adherence to a strict gluten-free diet.
An expert celiac dietitian can help you:

  • Understand the nutritional complications of celiac disease
  • Learn to read food labels and identify safe and unsafe foods
  • Create a gluten-free environment at home
  • Identify sources of cross-contamination
  • Identify key nutrients that may be missing in your diet
  • Avoid contamination when dining outside the home
  • Develop gluten-free shopping lists and meal plans
  • Follow a healthy gluten-free diet

WHERE DO I BEGIN?
Follow the basic recommendations below to get you started before your nutrition evaluation.

TIP #1: Concentrate on what you CAN eat rather than what you can’t

1. Check your refrigerator and cabinets and look for naturally gluten-free foods

  • Fresh Fruits
  • Fresh Vegetables
  • Beans
  • Meat/fish/poultry
  • Eggs
  • Vegetable/ Olive oil
  • Most dairy products
  • Spices
  • Gluten-free grains (see TIP #2)

2. Make a list of the “must-have” foods you used to eat that contain wheat. You will find a gluten-free substitute for most, if not all, of these foods!

  • Flour
  • Breads
  • Pasta
  • Pancakes
  • Crackers
  • Scones
  • Waffles
  • Cookies

3. Learn to read food labels to identify processed foods containing gluten.

TIP #2: “Wheat Free” does not mean “Gluten-Free”

SAFE GLUTEN-FREE GRAINS

  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Buckwheat
  • Amaranth
  • Teff flour
  • Nut Flour
  • Tapioca
  • Beans
  • Corn
  • Rice
  • Soy
  • Potato

GLUTEN-CONTAINING GRAINS to AVOID

  • Wheat
  • Durum
  • Graham
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale
  • Mainstream Oats

TIP #3: When in doubt, leave it out

Foods that MAY contain gluten:

  • Baking powder
  • Broth
  • Candy
  • Chewing gum
  • Chocolate
  • Salad dressings
  • Soups
  • Soy sauce
  • Flavorings & Seasonings
  • Imitation meat & seafood
  • Marinades & Sauces

Remember!! If in doubt, don't eat it! Wheat free is not gluten free!